Blogger here, I have some questions

Hello, I’m a blogger and I want to write an article about Outernet. I’m a detailed tech person so my questions are detailed. Sorry! First I’d like to get the parts (hardware and software and data) organized so I understand what is what, then I have some questions.

The parts

• Is it sold from a US location?
  • I know a CHIP computer is involved along with a flat receiver. I assume the CHIP computer needs a powerbank outputting 5vdc.
  • I also know the device is receive only.
  • What comprises the hardware? I have already found the $99 DIY kit
  • What comprises the “core” software? What does each piece of software do? How much does it cost?
  • Does the software run on Windows?
  • What is Skylark?

About the Lantern device

I know the Lantern is a solar-charged receiver with battery, data storage and a wifi hotspot.

• Is there a global password to allow anyone to use the hotspot?
  • Is there user-level security where users would have to create a username and password? This would be to allow different groups of users to access different folders of content.
  • It appears to support Wifi. Does it support Bluetooth?
  • What is the milliamp hous of the battery in the Lantern?
  • Does the Wifi hotspot need its own IP address? If so, how does one get an IP address?

More questions about the DIY kit

• I know there is “core” content. What if I don’t want any of the core content? The device is limited to 20mb per day. Limiting what a person downloads would be important.
  • The DIY kit does not appear to have a case. Does someone else build a case or will one be available in the future?
  • If it has a case, can I leave the receiver outside then run a cable inside to the signal booster, CHIP computer, etc?
  • Can the DIY kit be hooked to a USB 5v adapter plugged into the mains power? (Given everything is weatherproof.)
  • How do we point the receiver at the satellite to make sure we get the best signal?