Building Remote Sensor for Scientific Researchers

Hi there,

I’m helping a research scientist build a remote sensing device to protect forests from illegal logging. I’m new to SDR and would like to have some advisors I can bounce questions off of. If anyone is willing to field inquiries related to SDR and satellite comm options, please drop me a line!

I’m looking at Outernet as an option due to its low price point. I’m waiting to find out if the Twitter integration still exists so that we can get data from the field. Any guidance on that method or other ways of receiving very small data packets back from the device is welcome.

Thanks, all!

Matthew Epler

1 Like

I’m not sure about the startup costs for such an endeavor, but here are the prices to use such a satellite:

https://satellitephonestore.com/inmarsat/service/bgan

1 Like

Thanks for the link! If the Twitter service does still exist for Othernet, am I correct in thinking this could be used to get simple data back? Here’s the thread where it’s mentioned: We Moved!

1 Like

@matthew_epler the Twitter integration was for broadcasting tweets. We are working on a return channel, but it won’t be ready until next year.

1 Like

@Syed thanks for the reply. Still a little confused. I can broadcast a tweet from anywhere using the Dreamcatcher hardware - correct?

If so, I can monitor the twitter account for any changes and it’s effectively a packet delivery system. Am I right?

Thanks again,

M

1 Like

No, you can receive a tweet anywhere using the Dreamcatcher hardware (and the Outernet satellite service)

1 Like

Ah, thanks. That clarifies it.

1 Like

check this: RockBLOCK Mk2 - Iridium SatComm Module - WRL-13745 - SparkFun Electronics

2 Likes

now thats Freaking Cool…
Bookmarked that!!!

1 Like

I’ll second that!

1 Like

@Syed it will me amazing once you get the return channel working

1 Like