Going full circle and allow for FTA video/audio while outernet is idle

Hi, I am new to Outernet. I have a FTA setup with motorized dish, receiver, etc. I use it to watch FTA TV and listen to music.

Yesterday I decided to grab a raspberry pi and a hdstar tuner to give outernet a try. It is up and running. I have been monitoring and I see that it is not constantly receiving data, but it happens at burst.

Would it be possible to allow video or radio music stream from the other FTA services to be displayed on the main page while no outernet data is being received?

What made you draw this conclusion?

Hi Branko,

I am looking at the tuner settings page and I see the last received file has been outernet-rx-.2.5.2.pkg for a while and the storage device hasn’t move. But maybe I am wrong? Like I said I am new to outernet.

So the stream is constant. It’s like a tape device on a loop. There are a few streams going in parallel which we call ‘carousels’. When the file is received, it comes around again after a while, and the downloaders sees it again, but it won’t redownload it. It will, instead, skip and you will see it being at 100% constantly for a while.

I’m not sure if you’ve already considered this, but if you have a dual-output LNB you can connect one output to your TV receiver and another to your Outernet receiver. That way you can watch TV anytime, and outernet will download anytime the dish is pointed at the appropriate satellite. So, if the TV or audio content you are interested in is on the same bird as Outernet, you can watch/listen while simultaneously downloading Outernet content.

1 Like

Can you try the new 2.6rc1 image? It can be downloaded from Dropbox - Lighthouse images (snapshots) - Simplify your life.

Yes absolutely, I will when I get home. Does it need a Pi 2? or can I run it from a Pi B+?