Stability for DC v3.03 and Skylark v5.5

I am new to using the Dreamcatcher… having only recently purchased the v3.03 hardware, and am running the new v5.5 software.

I am wondering what the general accepted rule for up-time is on this combination? I don’t think I’ve exceeded 48 hrs up-time without experiencing a lockup requiring a reboot. I don’t know if I should start troubleshooting my power supply, re-flash the SD, or if this is expected performance. I don’t see it discussed much… except in relative terms in the forums to the older hardware, and since I haven’t run the older versions of hw/sw, I am a little unsure how to interpret the up-time performance I’m seeing.

My USB power supply has the correct name-plate ratings (2.1A) but the output is a tad low (like 4.9V). I could try a lab supply pushed up to 5.1V if the hardware is that sensitive to low voltage. I have poked around on the SD card, trying to figure out what I thought were stuck downloads (but came to read and find out it’s repeated files sent over and over for redundancy) but the software never had immediate issues with anything I did on the SD card (like deleting a “stuck” file or zindex). News and Wikipedia entries are filling up properly it appears.

Side question hopefully not to derail the topic, when do copies to the backup SD occur? I only notice files being copied over after I do a reboot.

Thanks for any data-points or suggestions,
Will

Hi Will - - the older versions of Skylark prior to 5.5 did lock up often, but the current 5.5 runs without problems for weeks +. You point out a low supply voltage at 4.9V - - that may be an issue. If you can push it up, try that.

Does anyone else have any ideas? Ken

Thanks, Ken, for the datapoint that I should be seeing pretty high up-time (weeks+).

I checked the test-points on the Dreamcatcher itself, and it appears you lose another 0.1V across the Vusb ferrite. So the 4.9V I mentioned earlier was looking more like 4.8V at the board.