Volunteering for Outernet

There have been dozens of email inquiries about volunteering for Outernet. Feel free to express your interest here. By talking about why you want to volunteer publicly, you’ll probably inspire others to do the same.

5 Likes

For me, something I’d volunteer to do is to help run scheduled tests? Something like ping or internet speeds from my specific location to help with accuracy, etc. I would probably also create a free learning solution as well as another service that can be accessed through Outernet and by anyone in the world. But the main guise for making it would be because Outernet was made.

1 Like

I’m totally in for a few reasons.

• Ubuntu!
  • Disasters (I help with them at home)
  • FOSS
  • I have some satellite experience already (especially with my ham radio quals).

J

1 Like

I’m an IP video transport engineer for a large company in the US and I have a strong background in UDP multicasting via several mediums. I also have a strong background in fiber optics and RF transmission. This project to me represents what the internet was originally designed to be. I’d love to help out however I can.

1 Like

I’m a systems engineer in the aerospace industry. This project is realistic and could touch billions of lives. Outernet could:

1. Provide free internet everywhere. Solve service and bandwidth limitations in urban and rural regions alike, from Shanghai to Sub-Saharan Africa.
  2. Limit government censorship. Return the rights of freedom of speech, assembly, religion, and the press to all nations.
  3. Boost economic growth. People all over the world could attend trade or language schools and make smarter business decisions.

And the best part: this could really work.

1 Like

I’m a software professional from Indian IT industry and my major specialization is in .NET. I’m ready to contribute in this public interest.

1 Like

Hey Guys!