Arch ARM ORx - issue installing TVHeadend

Hi all,
I’m new to this and decided to have a go at setting up the outernet receiver as a vacation something to do. I’ve started with Arch Linux / PCTV 461 as I initially thought 461 only ran on Arch but I might be mistaken. I’ll probably try raspbian after this.

I’ve run into a few issues with the script, but was able to run it fully (or at least generate the lock file post install) after some fiddling. I have been able to successfully receive content so it is working.

Anyway, here are the issues I ran into. I hope these are useful as a fresh perspective:

I started with Arch Linux 2014.06 image (the last sd version I could find) then ran pacman -Syu and rebooted.

I then ran the script, it stops at ondd (dies with /usr/sbin exists error).
Solution - wget this from outernet.is and pacman -U --force it.

reboot, rerun script.

tvheadend install fails (can’t run tvheadend makepkg as root/–asroot switch invalid) / install.log blank.
Solution : created user (with sudo but this might not be necessary), run and installed script excerpt, rebooted and logged back in as root.

install script finished.

Due to this and similar issues, we are working on an image file that will be used with SD cards. We released such images when we released last Beta release, but the image wasn’t good because of updated openSSL library that broke the receiver software. We’ll be fixing that and creating a new image soon.

Hello all - - I have finished installing the new Arch ARM ORx image on my Raspberry pi, and it works fine up to a point. When I install a new Geniatech HDStar just received on 23 Jan 2015, the TVHeadend recognizes it as Montage Technology DS3000 and allows me to go thru rest of the step up process using Galaxy 9 97.0 deg W with manual settings of - - Frequency: 12177000, Symbolrate: 23000000, Fec: 3/4, and Vert polarization. But I can’t Map the selected Outernet Service as the Geniatech is not seeing anything from the satellite.