Can I help? I'm a satellite communications engineer

Hi,

I’ve been watching the Outernet project with interest since I first heard about it some months ago.

I’m a UK-based satellite communications engineer, and my company, RPC Telecommunications, is working with commercial geostationary and non-geostationary satellite operators around the World. Our main area of expertise is spectrum and regulatory engineering, although we have a broad general knowledge of the communications side of the satellite industry.

Your aim to use satellite technology to provide free, global access to information is a really inspiring one, and I would like to know more about the project, with a view to offer to help in some way, if you think that might be useful.

Best wishes,

Mark

2 Likes

Hi Mark,

It would be great to take this to email and also follow up with a conversation. I’m sure we can figure out a way to get you involved and leverage your industry experience. As examples, we want to open source the proprietary datacasting client that we currently use. This will allow more receivers to build in the software necessary to receive and decode our content. We are also working towards setting a hardware reference design and product wifi receivers–until our margins are squeezed by other market entrants.

Looking forward to talking in more detail.
Syed
[email protected]

Thanks Syed!

I’ll be in touch…

Over a decade ago, I was a Senior Systems Engineer for a company that provided internet via satellite to the US and South America, using a system very similar to Outernet. Ever since then, I’ve thought a system like Outnet should exist, but never had the means to make it happen.

A few weeks ago, I noticed that DVB-T modulators are now only about US$200, which got me looking into opencaster again…

I have OSS development experience. I was the lead developer for Asterisk(VoIP) integratoin in XRMS(CRM/SFA) long ago. I also have network engineering and sysadmin experience.