I am about to give up.. can't get it to work :-(

Back in November I ordered the Outernet antenna and a SDR dongle from Ebay. I am pretty sure the dongle is an E4000 based one. I downloaded and installed the raspberry pi image on a brand new Raspberry Pi 3 and fired it all up.

The software is working fine… no problem connecting to it or anything. But I can not get a signal from the Satellite.
I live in the southern U.S. and am trying to find the signal at about 98degees in the sky. (I point sat dishes for a living so I know where to look)

I have only ever been able to get a marginal lock.
Last night I tried again in my back yard and was able to get a little over a 3 SNR and it started to receive data.
It was so cool! I got news feeds and Wiki pages with pictures and everything. And one of those BIG weather files was downloading… I didn’t touch anything and went to bed hoping that by morning I would have lots of content.

But when I woke up… the signal was down to about 1.6 and no more data :frowning:

I took the whole set up to work today where I have a very clear view of the sky from the roof… NOTHING.
I tried the antenna on a different RTL SDR stick (not E4000, the other cheap one)… Of course I could not use the preamp on that stick because it didn’t supply power… but with that … nothing… SNR didn’t change weather I had the antenna connected or not!
Swapped back to the “offical” sdr stick that I got from Amazon and with the pre-amp the best I can get is about 2.5 SNR on a beautiful clear night with an open view of the sky.

If I plug the E4000 stick into a computer and use SDR# I see a huge noise spike right in the middle of the spectrum display. I thought this might be a problem … but after some research I found that the E40000 chips do this and SDR# tunes in an offest to compensate for it. But, I don’t see a way to put in an offest on raspbery pi software. That is why I tried the other dongle… but no luck.