Method of Rebooting RXOS Without Corrupting the SD?

I’m becoming an expert on reflashing the SD card in the Pi3 running RXOS. I’m finding the system eventually starts to slow down, and begins to refuse to respond when accessed wirelessly. Eventually, over a period of hours the system is completely unreachable via wireless. Is there any way to command a reboot from the wireless connection, and perhaps avoid having to reflash the card? As it is, pulling the power, and reapplying it definitely corrupts the card (which I’m also an expert at…apparently), but at that point one has no other choice. As it is, it’s a neat application, but not terribly stable after a day of use. Immediately after the card is reflashed everything works wonderfully again, but my optimism slowly dies as it starts going south. This is such a simple device, from a user’s standpoint, that there is not a lot of trouble that the human can cause. Conversely, it seems there is a lot of reflashing, that the same human gets to do to take care of the mischief that the system seems to exert on itself. Any way to avoid the system running itself into a ditch over the course of a day?

That’s why we decided to go with the CHIP with its on board storage, rather than the Pi 3. The slow do you are referring to is being reviewed by @Abhishek.

On a Pi, if you use the reboot command over SSH, does it actually reboot? Or does it only shut down?

It will reboot via the reboot command - as expected. I’m not sure how the battery pack you recommend responds to this, though. The user might have to hit the power button on the power bank to get it to come back.

Stratux has thousands of Pi3s out there where the only on/off mechanism is the power plug. No issues. The only issues that come back are from “power users” that use their own SD cards.

@stappenbeck - what SD card are you using? 16GB probably?