New user, gathering infos and searching for a unit

Hi all, i am a radioamateur operator from Italy, i already have a 85cm parabolic dish and a bullseye LNB that i am currently using for QO100 (Es’Hail2) DVB-S2 TX/RX. I just dipped my toe into Othernet and it looks appealing to me, i would like to explore more the net and to understand better what it is.
My questions are:
is there a way to get a dreamcatcher unit without waiting biblical time?
is there a guide that explain in details all the net?

Also, i am very experienced with satellites and GHz tx/rx and i also have an Adalm Pluto, i was wondering if i can use that as “dreamcatcher”.

I also saw in some posts that the protocol is APRS, i used it in 144MHz quite often back in the days so i guess it’s the same that you guys are using here.

thanks to everyone will answer and sorry for my english, probably full of errors :slight_smile:

Lorenzo

1 Like

@Mechavashtron
@iw0hjz
There is a nice gentleman in Italy who is also an amateur operator and user of the new DreamCatcher board, you may wish to contact @iw0hjz Alberto. I have included his info here so that he will see these posts.

@Mechavashtron @iw0hjz
There is a User’s Guide in the above WiKi

that explains the setup/operation of the existing Dreamcatcher v3.05. That device is not sold anymore, but some Forum members may have spares they might provide you. @Syed Syed is working very hard to get the next generation Dreamcatcher out to users, but until it becomes available, there is no User Guide for it. Ken

1 Like

Hi Lorenzo, nice to see you here , any info you need via email [email protected]

new year with othernet, maybe??
hny ciao alberto

1 Like

@Mechavashtron

In theory, yes, but in practice I’m not sure it’s possible. You’ll need a bias-tee, but since you are already working QO100, I’m sure you have one. The tricky part is demodulating LoRa in software. I have not tried it, but I think @caveman99 has played around with this and he said it was a mess.