Request For Comment - Satellite "hacking" for good

I am not suggesting anyone do anything illegal!

Please see: Hack Satellite Connection and Surf AnonymouslySecurity Affairs

It occurs to me that it might have been possible to find a satellite company or two that would offer free or cheap bandwidth for the humanitarian aims that Outernet aspires to.

As an ex-network tech, I am reasonably sure that they could arrange a multicast IP, and an Access Control List to ensure that data only flowed down-stream, and was received only from a pre-authorised source - then it ought to be possible to do file-casting via UDP, so that anyone with the appropriate equipment set to sniff and filter those packets could receive the transmitted information.

I believe that a persuasive argument could convince the companies that there would be positive PR in it for them, and in time the possibility of selling more products. If I was ever granted the blessing of the admins, I would cheerfully follow this up myself with assitance (or at least until someone better, or with more enthusiasm comes along), provided it was legitimately under the Outernet umbrella.

I /really/ feel that Outernet is missing a lot by moving away from the high bandwidth transmissions, it had the capability to revolutionise education and access to information in the developing world, and much as I try, I can’t see 20MB a day doing that.

What do you think?

r

Low cost technology from Solar, Raspberry Pi Arm Boards, RTL-SDR dongles, Cubesats , etc is exploding at an exponential growth rate.

Its destructive. Of old methodologies. Coal, Phone companies, Microsoft, Dell, etc

The poorest person can aspire to a $9 Chip computer. Add a $9 RTL-SDR and a coiled Helical antenna and you have a Outernet receiver. (May need LNA)

I think the Outernet project should not do “Social Comparisons” to other Satellite projects, Instead concentrate on what it is doing which is “being the Gold Standard in L-Band Data-casting.”