Skylark Release 4.4 Issues with flashing (This is my first attempt to flash from VM)

Hey guys, I am having issues with the flash, but I think it is procedural for my setup at this point. I have never tried to flash the chip before so this may be easy. I have the VM loaded, I think I have my chip jumpered correctly (can I tell?) and I plug in the CHIP, then start the VM. The VM says it never finds a CHIP in FEL mode and eventually times out and drops to the shell.

I see a USB device listed called “Onda (unverified) V972 tablet in flashing mode [02B3]” so is that it? When I look at the USB settings I see that there is a “filter” set to “CHIP FEL Mode”. Should I add a new filter for the device I mentioned above? (I don’t think that will help because when I tried it the created filter was identical except for adding a “revision” number) Have I done something wrong? I didn’t load any drivers in windows 10, but then again it didn’t ask me to. I do see a device that doesn’t seem to have a working driver loaded in my win10 device list.

@Syed This was a fresh install of Virtualbox and the VM image. I did not load any drivers and so far I have not messed with anything except the “USB Filters” where I looked at adding one, but ended up deleting it.

Here is a picture of my chip with the jumper installed.

The jumpers look good. Now what happens when you start the VM? Can you take a picture of that screen?

If you look at my first screenshot above you can see it in the backgound. I can get a cleaner picture tomorrow but it boots all the way to the part where it is trying to find the chip. It tries twice and times out.

Try a different USB cable. Where did you get that case?

Did you confirm that you have virtualization enabled on your PC?

I too am having issues flashing. CHIP is same as shown above. Using VM under Win7.
Also see the same Onda USB device.
I get kernel panic errors.

1 Like