Weather file showing 3 Hour Intervals

Hi All,

I’m new to Outernet and so far I enjoy using it. I’m a sailor, I sail off the coast of Newfoundland were the weather changes quickly. The weather app is awesome, but I was wondering if it would be possible to get the files showing the daily forecast with the 3 hour intervals.

Thanks
Bruce.

Thanks for the feedback. We can technically deliver the weather updates more frequently than once per day, but we need to allocate the capacity for other content as well. Do you think there is a market for updates in 3-hour intervals for a small fee? To be clear, we would still keep the once-per-day updates completely free, but for more frequent updates, we would need someway to pay for the additional satellite bandwidth.

What is the size of the “current weather snapshot” without all of the added prediction files for the next days in KBytes, both packed and unpacked? I was just wondering.

-Cecil

@abhishek has a much better idea about this, but I believe it’s around 300kB or so.

Hi Syed,